For Grant Seekers

Giving Guidelines

The Medica Foundation provides funding for community-based initiatives and nonprofit organizations that help build healthy communities. 




The Medica Foundation considers only single-year grant requests. Nonprofit organizations are eligible to receive only one grant within a calendar year.

Each year, our leadership team reviews community needs and past grant outcomes to determine funding areas for the next year. Depending on the needs of the community, these funding areas may be modified from year to year.

We Do Not Fund:

  • Capital campaigns or capital expenditures
  • General and/or ongoing operating support
  • Long-term financial support
  • Religious groups for religious purposes
  • Lobbying or political activities
  • Projects for which administrative expenses exceed 10 percent of the total grant
  • Sporting events and athletic groups

Nonprofit organizations that are 501(c)(3) legal entities or governmental agencies are eligible to receive funding.

We provide funding for organizations within the Medica Foundation service area of Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin. 

Wisconsin funding is only offered in the following counties: Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Burnett, Chippewa, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Pierce, Polk, Sawyer, St. Croix and Washburn.